WMS layers

Visualize/analyse Thematic Datasets and consume as OGC Web Services..
Post Reply
prakashps
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:02 am

WMS layers

Post by prakashps » Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:42 am

Hi Bhuvan,

I am not able to find documentation regarding layers published in WMS layers,if i go through them directly in QGIS there are plenty of them appear, but not standardized.

I request you to help me out in this.


Thank you

sonal
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 8:23 am

Re: WMS layers

Post by sonal » Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:55 am

Hi,

The WMS layer name corresponding to each theme is available under 'WebServices' tab of Bhuvan Thematic services http://bhuvan.nrsc.gov.in/gis.

One such example is below - (For Andaman Nicobar [AN] Land Use Land Cover [LULC] 50k scale [50K] year 2005-06[0506]

URL - "http://bhuvan5.nrsc.gov.in/bhuvan/wms"
layername is - "vector:AN_LULC50K_0506"

Let us know if you still face problem in using the layers.

prakashps
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:02 am

Re: WMS layers

Post by prakashps » Sat Aug 03, 2013 5:12 am

Hi,

Thank you for your kind help.

I am not able to find administrative boundaries (up to village level) as WMS layer? If it is available, can we use that in preparing our own data set for commercial purpose?

Thank you.
Prakash

sonal
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 8:23 am

Re: WMS layers

Post by sonal » Tue Aug 06, 2013 2:47 am

admin boundaries comes from SOI and are only available for visualization. No WMS service or download for the same.

rahultandon
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 4:32 am

Re: WMS layers

Post by rahultandon » Mon Sep 23, 2013 4:35 am

Hi,
i am unable to add wms layer in Qgis,it is asking to enter USERNAME and PASSWORD.it is not taking USERNAME and PASSWORD which i enter when i create to establish connection.

sonal
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 8:23 am

Re: WMS layers

Post by sonal » Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:05 am

Please mention the WMS layer name and URL which you are trying to access in QGis?

Post Reply